A question from Andy Howell regarding Synthetic Transactions

The following message was posted as an email to this blog last Thursday:

In Operations Manager 2007 Unleashed, you say that it is possible to create synthetic transactions using VBscript. You go on to work through a few examples of synthetic transactions based on pre-defined templates in Operations Manager. As part of this, you describe how to use watcher nodes to run these transactions.
Unfortunately I’ve not been able to find many examples of people who are actually doing this, so I’m turning to your site in desperation. I have an FTP server and need to prove that I can establish a connection and transfer a file to it. What I thought was the hard bit – I’m not a coder! – is done. A small VBscript establishes a connection, transfers a files and returns the status code to Operations Manager in a property bag.
What I’m struggling with is the simple bit: where to run it. I don’t want to run it on the FTP server itself, as this wouldn’t prove anything. Ideally I would like to use a watcher node, but I can’t find a way to do this without using one of the pre-defined templates for synthetic transactions, none of which allow me to run my own VBscript. Am I missing something obvious?
By the way, and regardless of whether you can answer this post or not, System Center Operations Manager 2007 Unleashed is a truly excellent book. In my 12 year career I’ve read through many IT titles. This one really stands as an example of what a good IT book should be: it covers the theory, operation and real-life scenarios (for example database sizes) in just the right level of detail.
Andy

Unfortunately, Andy’s communication preference settings don’t allow us to respond to him, and we would like some additional details as we may need to have him try some things.

Andy, can you email ops-mgr@hotmail.com with an email address that we can reply to? Thanks!

This entry was posted in Operations Manager 2007. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

